More Blake Griffin man love

I know I may sound like an idiot already crowning Blake Griffin as elite and I don’t mean to sound like Chris Broussard having no intelligence for the game of basketball whatsoever, but Blake Griffin has unlimited potential.  Every year I’ve had a man-crush on an NBA basketball player and for the past few years JR Smith of the Denver Nuggets has stolen my heart, but after watching Blake Griffin in his first game throw down two unbelievable dunks that I didn’t know he had in him I shifted my focus to the “rookie.”

I knew he was good at Oklahoma but I didn’t pay much attention to him because I figured Marc Stein and Jay Bilas were just overhyping another Kwame Brown, but Blake Griffin has the entire package for a pure power foward.  The post up game, the defense, and he can finish around the hoop with the rest of the elite power forwards that have played the game.  I also underestimated his leaping ability since he played four minutes last season and ended his season with a knee injury.  He gets off the floor faster than any player I have seen in awhile.  If I had to equate him to a former NBA player all I see in him is Shawn “Reign man” Kemp (pre-360 lb. years in Cleveland)  I’m talking Gary Payton, Detlef Schrempf, Hersey Hawkins Seattle Supersonics.

About nrestivo

Graduate of the University of Tennessee. Freelance writer at Complex Magazine in New York City, learning from some of the best. Tweet me @nrestivo
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

